• Blog

New track from The Forms’ Derealization

written by: on January 11, 2011

I’m calling it now. The star-studded EP Derealization by The Forms, coming out in February, will be one of the standout releases of 2011. This is going to be the record where people – fans and music publications alike – will take notice of this band who has been releasing (slowly but surely) solid music since 2003. They are now playing as a duo of Alex Tween on keyboard and vocals and Matt Walsh on drums, samplers and vocals.

Derealization is an EP reworking several tracks from the band’s previous releases, Icarus and The Forms. And it is filled with cameos. The first single “Steady Hand” (re-working the original “Bones”) featured Andrew Thiboldeaux from Pattern is Movement. And the newly released “Fire to the Ground” (based around “Redgun” from the self-titled album) features Matt Berninger from hugely successful The National. Look for members of Shudder to Think, St. Vincent and Dirty Projectors in the liner notes too.

*Track removed*

Derealization Tracklist

  1. Fire to the Ground [ft. Matt Berninger]
  2. Same Path Mantra
  3. Steady Hand [ft. Andrew Thiboldeaux]
  4. Alpha Wave
  5. Finally [ft. Craig Wedren]
  6. Derealization