• News

The Walkmen Announce Heaven

written by: on March 29, 2012

The Walkmen are going to Heaven for their follow up to 2010’s Lisbon. It has been ten years since the release of The Walkmen’s debut album, Everyone who Pretended to Like Me is Gone, in 2002.

After going to the capital of Portugal, The Walkmen are going northward for their sixth studio album. Heaven will be released on June 05, 2012 by Fat Possum/Bella Union. The album was produced by Phil Ek and will feature two appearances by Robin Pecknold, the lead singer of Fleet Foxes, including “No One Ever Sleeps.” The Walkmen toured with Fleet Foxes in 2011.

“We Can’t Be Beat” will be the opening track of Heaven. No track list has been released but we do know some song titles including “Song for Leigh,” “Heartbreaker,” “Love is Luck” and “Southern Heart.”

To celebrate Heaven‘s release and their decade of existence as a band, The Walkmen will be headlining Crossing Brooklyn Ferry festival, curated by The National, at the Brooklyn Academy of Music on May 03, 2012. The Walkmen will be supporting Florence and the Machine on their North American tour in July.

You can preorder the album here.