• News

The Flaming Lips To Release Massive Collaboration Album

written by: on March 30, 2012

With Record Store Day, April 21st, rapidly approaching, several artists are preparing their new releases. The Flaming Lips will be releasing a huge collaboration vinyl LP titled The Flaming Lips and Heavy Fwends. The album is set to feature Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes, Tame Implala, Bon Iver, Neon Indian, Yoko Ono, Erykah Badu, Coldplay, Ke$ha, and more.

Wayne Coyne sat down with MTV recently and discussed the blood samples he has taken from his collaborators, saying, “What I’m going to try to do — and I’m collecting stuff for it as we speak — is I’m going to try to make a record that has every person’s blood in the record. I don’t have everybody’s blood just yet, but I collected quite a few vials of blood and it’s actually sitting in my refrigerator as we speak.”

In other news, the track on which Bon Iver and the Lips collaborated has leaked. It is titled Ashes In The Air and has a dystopian, Bowie feel to it. Listen to the track below and don’t forget to check out the LP on April 21.